Curried ICE

I just had last night’s leftovers for lunch.  It reminded me that I stumbled on a fab way to make a tasty curry dish, and I have to write it down before I forget.  I am a good spur-of-the-moment cook, utilising whatever my pantry and frig present.  Yesterday, I had leftover brown rice and a package of tofu that was calling to me.  I decided I wanted curried tofu, not just my usual saute.  I diced some garlic and onion and sauteed them in the skillet in about a tablespoon of olive oil.  I added the tofu, cut into short strips.  I sprinkled cumin (about 1 teaspoon) and curry powder (about 2 tablespoons because I like it spicy) on top, mixing to make sure all the tofu got coated.  Then I hunted in my pantry for something to make it more like a sauce.  In a stroke of genius, I chose a box of carrot and ginger soup.  I tested it on my mental palate and decided it would work just fine, and added the whole box (? 2 cups or more) into the pan.  I stirred it and tasted.  The sweetness of the carrots was barely coming through, and needed enhancement.  The honey jar did the rest.  A few tablespoons of honey, to taste, and voila!!!!! a wonderful curry.  I let it simmer and thicken, then enjoyed.  A spoonful of nonfat plain greek yogurt was a nice accompaniment. 

When I was a kid, my mom cooked all kinds of ethnic food.  She would joke that she was part – Italian, or Indian, or German, or whatever suited her dish for the night.  I started school seriously thinking I was part Mexican and Italian and Indian and…you name it.  I didn’t know the difference ’til I was in sixth grade.  Seriously. 

I wish my mom still had her taste for new and different foods.  She seems to have outlived most of her taste buds, and nothing is very palatable to her now.  (You do lose taste buds and smell with age, smell contributing a lot to our ability to differentiate specific flavors.)  I called my mom on Saturday when I was feeling awful, and she gave me some comforting words.  She and my dad are very understanding and supportive when I am sick, and still very protective of me.  How nice to still be someone’s child. 

This morning I saw a reference to Atlanta’s ICE:  Indie Craft Experience.  It will be held for two days at the end of May, and I mustered my nerve and put in an application to be a vendor.  Crossing my fingers.  I tried to show my hippest stuff. 

Peace.

3 Responses

  1. Are you trying to muscle in on my food blogging territory? And a curry dish no less!

  2. Good luck with the Atlanta show. Added you to my blogroll today. See you Saturday?

Leave a Reply

