Use Your Words Debuts with Bizarre Sh*t

Want to know how I feel this morning?  It’s all right here:  https://essiewb.wordpress.com/?s=med+withdrawal%2C+part+II.  Been there, done that, wrote about it in my blog. 

 

I am, once again, suffering through the awful withdrawal of discontinuing Cymbalta.  It’s just as bad.  Maybe worse, because I know that I can’t go back this time.  A $118 per month medicine just isn’t possible for me right now.  It would interfere with my crafting budget.  It would cramp my Weight Watchers fees.  It would piss me off so badly that I couldn’t enjoy the medicine. 

 

For some reason, I thought that withdrawal wouldn’t be so bad this time.  After all, I’m coming off half the dose I was on last year, and replacing it with Prozac as I go.  But it is bad.  I’m reminding myself of the quote attributed to Einstein:   “insanity:  doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”  I don’t expect to find myself restarting Cymbalta and then having to go through this again. 

 

So, here I sit, hands too sore to pick up needles or hook, waiting for pain medicine and optimism to kick in.  For some reason, what comes to mind is something I can only call “Bizarre Sh*t from My Past, Part I”.  Here goes.

 

Several times in my college history I had to schedule a weekly lab on a Friday afternoon.  Like most other schools, the weekend at Vanderbilt started as early as possible, and academic areas of campus were deserted by 5 p.m.  on Friday.  One such day I came out of my lab, one of the last to finish the experiment, and sat on the steps of the building.  That’s a habit I’ve had for decades – finishing up a difficult day, and escaping the building only to be stalled on the front steps, where I have to sit down and collect myself.  Another story.

 

This particular day, I was sitting on the steps, readjusting myself to nature, enjoying the nonchemical smells and crisp air, when a squirrel approached me.  I sat very still, knowing that a tame campus squirrel might come as far as the steps and entertain me for a moment.  It approached, sat still for one long moment, looking at me, then lunged.  The bright brass buttons on my coat had caught its eye, and it grabbed one and hung on.  I screamed, struggled out of my coat as quickly as I could, grabbed my books, and ran.  I returned much later for the coat.  I no longer think squirrels are cute.  They are maniacally aggressive little monsters. 

 

Whew.  I can feel the pain medicine kicking in.  It’s too late for knitting, but I can pick up my sticks and work on the cotton tape shirt and the fun wool mitts that won’t require a rigid grasp.  I can also show you some cool stuff from this week.  dsc03635

Meet my new model.  I don’t have a baby in my house, and the ones down the street all have jobs.  I made myself a strip of canvas with hand-drawn faces.  I can wrap it around a toilet paper roll and fit on a baby hat and take photos for the store (http://turtletots.etsy.com).   This particular hat has two cables just over the left ear (or where there would be an ear if my model didn’t have a slight congenital deformity).  I love it.  Here’s another:  dsc03644  Meet Henri, wearer of a green beret knit from recycled cotton.  Speak to him wiz zee French accent. 

 

On another note, in my grownup store (http://essiewb.etsy.com) I have a new collection of cards.  The Use Your Words greeting cards are individual pieces of original art, mounted on card stock and left blank for you to send a message.  The artist is someone very dear to me, a young woman who has been very shy about sharing her artwork.  I hope this is just the beginning.   

dsc03669

 

 

 Lovely words to leave you with on this Valentine’s Day.

 

Peace.

4 Responses

  1. I’m so sorry that your “withdrawal” is such a pain (oops! sorry). But I absolutely LOVE your models! What a great idea.

  2. 1) I don’t think I have ever heard of squirrels attacking. Too bad it wasn’t videotaped. Would have been a hit on YouTube 20 years later.

    2)I am not a psychic but I can guess that this is the highlight of your models’ career. The rest of their lives are going to be pretty shitty. (hahahahahahahahahaha!)

  3. DinometerDeb, they didn’t have videotape when I was in college. Someone from the art department would have had to come over and paint the scene. And my models do not think you are funny.

  4. Oh My Gosh that squirrel story cracked me up!!!!

Leave a Reply

