Yes, I’m really writing about steel cut oats.

Post Number 427 in the “cheap date” and “easily amused” categories.  I know.  But for the first time, I cooked steel cut oats at home, and I have to give them a couple of rhapsodizing paragraphs.  You people with real lives can move on to the CNN website. 

 

I am a big fan of hot cereal.  I was raised on cream of wheat, oatmeal and grits, all cooked the long, slow way in my early childhood, then later as flavored, sugary packets that you could mix with hot water.  I loved the early stuff, and when I got to a time where nutrition became more important than speed, I went back to it.  Last trip to Georgia, I ordered steel cut oatmeal for breakfast almost every morning, and absolutely loved it.  I swore that I’d be giving up my mushy oatmeal.  Yesterday I purchased some at the Village Market, and I’m in new food heaven.

 

This doesn’t even look like oatmeal!  It’s little chunks of whole oats, not flat, pressed down slices.  The finished product is much chewier and has a nuttier, fuller flavor than oatmeal.  I could imagine using these in a casserole or as a dinner side dish.  They have their own flavor, and don’t need butter or sweetness to enhance it. 

 

People complain about the time it takes to cook these.  Use your rice cooker.  Steel cut oats plus two times the amount of water, 45 minutes of watching the news, and you’ve got breakfast. 

 

One cooked cup of these oats has 150 calories, 2 g fat, 4 g fiber, 6 g protein.  That equals a measly 2 Weight Watchers points.  I’m hooked for life.

 

Peace.

4 Responses

  1. My DH was trying to fix them in the microwave in 2 minutes. I think he was eating horse food, poor man.

    I am on a muesili kick right now. Raw granola, no?

    • Poor man, how valiantly ambitious of him! You can soak the oats overnight so they cook more quickly, but it still requires a pot on the stove. Thanks for the tremendous laugh.

  2. I had the exact same thing for breakfast this morning. I love my steel cut oats!

  3. Can you get the steel-cut oats at Greenlife? Have you ever used barley? I’ve gotten it before – love to use it in soups, and have occasionally made beef/barley/mushroom soup. But I haven’t been able to find it. I haven’t looked at Greenlife, though. Have you seen it there? I really don’t want to drive to Collegedale, but might stop at the other one.

Leave a Reply

