Cozy Cables Organic Cotton Hat

Yesterday I sketched out directions for my organic cotton hat.  Since I hadn’t finished it, there were some details that I didn’t describe.  I decided that the fabric of the hat was too soft to sew buttons directly to it.  It needed a button band to have a secure base for them.  I took a strip of cotton fabric and cut it about 1.5 inches wide and 1.5 inches longer than the width of the hat band.  I placed this under the band beneath where I wanted to stitch the buttons, turning the ends under.  My buttons are now sewn on very securely.  Here’s the final product:

blueskyorganiccottonhat-002

and the button band:  blueskyorganiccottonhat-006

Overall, this is one of my favorite hats that I’ve designed and made.  It’s in my store now (http://essiewb.etsy.com). 

Peace.

2 Responses

  1. Great hat!

    Did you host the focus group on health care? How did it go? I read in the paper about the one hosted by Rep. JoAnn Favors.

    • Thanks, Mary. I woke this morning to find that it sold to someone in Minnesota. Guess they’re so cold they have to import hats from the south!

Leave a Reply

