Confessions of a Yarn Hussy

I’m going to tell you about a yarn I love, and I’m going to confess a secret.  Oops, wrong order.  The secret goes first:  I am afraid of being seen as, well…, fickle.  Every seventeen minutes I’m fondling a new ball of yarn and declaring it my favorite.  Each new love is so strong that I can’t help blurting it out to the world.  I come on here and discuss all the wonderful features of my new honey, and then proclaim my new affection and undying allegiance to him-I mean it.  I can remember talking about lots of previous loves:  mohair, Noro (I hang my head in shame to think that I was enamored of their whole team!), Karabella Supercashmere, Cottage Knits Cozy Cotton, Colinette’s Point Five, Bazic Wool, Mirasol Miski, Craftygirl’s hand-dyed sock yarn, Louisa Harding Kimono Angora…and those are just the ones that come readily to mind.  I’m saddened to think where some of those previous loves are now.  For instance, there’s the lovely blue mohair half-finished on its circular needles, bundled into a Ziplock and stashed in the storage ottoman. 

 

So here we go again.  I know I’ve raved about some wonderful sustainable fibers, my favorite being bamboo.  The thing that gets me about bamboo is its antibacterial properties.  As one who is constantly looking for ways to ward off the next infection, this feature occuring naturally in a fiber is next to miraculous.   It’s like meeting a man who believes in washing his feet.  (In my experience, the male of the species tends to feel that if he stands on his feet in the shower, they are being cleaned.)  It would be great if that was the only good property, but bamboo yarns tend to be smooth and shimmery with wonderful drape.  I’ve finished the scarf that I discovered half-finished, the Be Sweet bamboo scarf I mentioned yesterday.  Stroking that fabric stitch after stitch, row after row, for three more feet of scarf was nothing but pleasure.  The yarn took the dye so evenly that the color was sustained with equal brightness in every inch that I handled.  The sheen was enough to look special, but not gaudy.  The way the two strands I was pulling wrapped around each other and cooperated to form the stitches was wonderful.  All I felt was smooth, soft, coolness.  Let me see if I can show you:

besweetbamboo-001besweetbamboo-003

Okay, okay, I understand that you can’t feel it.  Take my word for it.  It’s lovely.  I had my 20 year-old test drive it.  It hung around her neck beautifully.  It drapes well, but has weight because of the doubled strands. 

 

I’m seriously thinking I need a kimono from this yarn. 

 

If you haven’t voted early, go vote tomorrow.  It’s your duty. 

Peace.

One Response

  1. I have to say, when I first read the title, I thought it said, “Confessions of a Yam hussy”, and I was thinking, “Wow, Essie must REALLY like yams…. ”

    😉 Hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

