The Right Music, The Right Yarn

This is my 250th post.  Who’ve thought I’d have this much to say?  If I didn’t live alone, would I be talking to the computer?  Yes.  There’s no one that can be your audience for everything.  I’d certainly wear out a roommate or family member with my knitting ruminations.  The last time I travelled, I found myself showing a completed piece to the hotel maid.  She was politely appreciative but I didn’t unearth any crafting passions. 

 

I know there are people who are thanking God that they don’t have to sew or knit every stitch they wear, that Sears has it quicker and cheaper and in more colors.  But I think it’s sort of like our excitement over commercial baby formulas.  They were quick and cheap and freed women up to leave their babies behind, but in the end they weren’t as nutritious, the kids were sicker, and the bonding was not there.  When I was a kid, my parents thought it prudent for their daughters to learn to use what they had (basically their hands and their brains) to make what they needed.  They saw the value in learning to cook, clean and sew.  In turn, we didn’t pass up the opportunity to learn more skills, especially crafts like knitting and embroidery and crochet.  I still strongly prefer food cooked from scratch at home to anything processed, no matter how easy or pretty or fast. 

 

I didn’t really think about this discussion before I began typing.  Mike Farris’s songs must be influencing my thought lines.  I wasn’t aware of him before the local NPR station (WUTC) began their fund drive.  When I heard one of his songs, I called in to pledge and get the CD.  Yes, I know that I can just buy the CD, but I do feel grateful that I am introduced to so much great music by WUTC.  Frankly, I would rarely turn on local radio if that station didn’t exist.  The pledging actually satisfied my need to feel that I wasn’t too poor to give something.  Economitis tends to make you play it so close to the chest that you act more of a pauper than the bank statements dictate. 

 

I’m still sniffing from the cold that woke me yesterday, but I used far less tissue today.  The knee that was injected with steroids does feel better, but it is pretty much untested.  We’ll know after some days of regular walking whether it’s going to hold or just return to its throbbing.  Already I can tell that it is no longer warm to the touch.  That’s a good sign.  Sometimes I get totally bored with taking care of this body.  I want to leave it with a babysitter and move out on my own.  I get bored, and I get weary of having to think about all the options.  For instance, for pain, I can ignore it, I can try acetaminophen, I can consider an extra dose of naproxen, I can use a heating pad or a lidocaine patch or some ice…hell, it makes me tired just considering all the stuff.  Half the time I do nothing because going through my flow chart of “if this then that” drives me nuts and keeps me from doing whatever I really wanted to do that day. 

 

I’m actually doing what I said:  working on the Noro Big Kureyon afghan.  It is about 50 inches wide and I’ve knitted to about 36 inches length.  I can knit a Noro yarn forever, because the colours are not repeating in a pattern, and the interchanges where one colour becomes another are so intricate and beautiful.  As usual, however, I am having to pick the tiny pieces of debris out of the yarn.  I feel them as the yarn passes through my fingers, and then pull them out, making a teeny haystack on my side table.  Sheep are not particularly clean animals, and Noro doesn’t seem obsessed with cleaning their sheared wool.  Anyway, I’m contemplating edging this somber piece, which is all shades of brown and gray, with another Noro yarn that is shot through with shades of rose and purple.  I can see it in my mind’s eye, but I’m going to get a skein and actually look.  Holy Cow!  The Kochoran (colour #18) is perfect with this Big Kureyon (colour #20).  Kochoran is a more refined yarn, with 50% wool, 30% angora, 20% silk, and it looks like an appropriate edging, not to mention the colours working together.  It also has a base of gray and brown.  Wow!  Can’t wait to show this off. 

Okay, I’ve been rhapsodizing about yarn and not knitting.  Gotta get back to it.

 

Peace.

One Response

  1. I love the idea of picking the bits of stuff out of the yarn as you knit. That also immediately tells to me how much lanolin is left in the yarn, and how wonderful it makes your hands feel as you knit. We have a woven blanket that we bought in Merida, Venezuela, in 1976(!!), and it STILL has that yummy lanolin feel to it.

    I hope your knee continues to feel better. I think mine does, too.

Leave a Reply

