Ball Winders and Grocery Store Carts

Nah, na-na, nah, nah, I’ve got a new ball winder.  And it’s red.  To be honest, when I saw the package on my porch, I hoped it was Kimono Angora, but having the ball winder is good, too.  I could only partly wind my hank of yellow and brown sock yarn, enough to complete the hat, but with great difficulty.  My old gears are stripped.  I was referred to an awesome commercial grade winder, everything heavy-duty, but it was $199.  I wimped out and ordered the cheapo for $22.99.  After all, I can have eight of those, lasting three years each (maybe six when you consider the additional postage), and a life of 18-24 years is not so bad.  Think of the Chinese workers that will be employed.  My gadget has the “fasten” and “loose” labels in English and characters that I assume are Chinese.  Okay, maybe I have too much time on my hands.  I made a call to the LACIS warehouse in Berkley where they confirmed that they were made in China. 

 

By the way, I did finish the sock yarn hat.  It’s cute.  Pics later.  Since then, I’ve started and finished the knitting on another kid sweater with the Merino Brights.  I think I finally got it right.  I knit it side to side on larger needles, and I think it’s going to be quite charming.  This is the unblocked back.  You can’t see many details, but there are purl ridges at the shoulders and cuffs, and a narrow garter stitch “rib” at the bottom.  There’s actually an inset for the neck at the top, which looks flat in the photo.  The fronts will be neat, unless you are nuts about symmetry.  One side has a fold up bottom that will form a pocket.  I’m so happy that I found a way to do this toddler sweater and be excited about it.  It’s in its third incarnation.  Sometimes it’s like that.  I am so much happier with this yarn striping vertically.  Don’t go thinking that I’m trying to give babies a slimming silhouette, but the horizontal stripes were just too wide to appreciate a good range of colors in such a short garment.  Now you can really see the flow from one to another. 

 

After I finished the sweater, I decided it needed a cap, so I’m about halfway through a matching cap.  This is going to be a charming little set.  I am planning unisex finishing touches. 

 

Next in my mind is to finish a Noro Kureyon throw/afghan that has been languishing on needles for months.  It’s in beautiful, muted browns and greys, and will look as cozy as it feels. 

 

I worked on some of the trunk show details today.  I couldn’t find many references to the kind of trunk show that I want to have, so I’ll have to make it up as I go along.  I’ve designed some personalized custom order slips that I can use with a carbon paper pad to take down information and record deposits.  I may do the same with receipt books.  I’d like to have hors d’oeuvres, background music, and pretty displays.  I need extra mirrors for trying on hats and scarves.  I’d love to have models, but that may be too ambitious.  I really don’t think anyone will loan me their kid to take to Atlanta for a couple of hours of looking adorable.  Oh yeah, I need to order more business cards. 

 

I know you can’t tell, but I’m at home.  Not where I planned to be, in Atlanta, getting ready for tomorrow’s seminar.  Yesterday I saw my doc and he saw my limp and all my joint troubles and stuck a needle full of steroids in my left knee.  I have to stay off it for two days, advice not conducive to packing and travel.  I woke up this morning with a cold, not the funnest way to approach a two-hour drive. 

 

After my doctor’s appointment yesterday, I had groceries to buy.  Since he’d said to be off the knee, and since my sacroiliac’s were also kicking, I rode in one of those motorized carts.  It was my first time!  I know, 16 years of lupus and no cart.  The idea of getting in one just leaves me feeling un-sexy.  However, I got over it yesterday and sat down on the cart and proceeded to terrorize Publix with my reckless driving.  My forward and backward switches just seemed a bit touchy.  People are very nice when you’re in a cart.  They say “I’m sorry” when they’re not in your way, and the lady in front of me in the checkout line helped me unload my basket.  I’m proud of overcoming my reluctance to ride.  It was keeping me from shopping sometimes when I really needed to.  (Dummy!)

 

People, I must go.  Dr. Phil is cutting into my business.  How am I going to put up my “Advice – 5 cents” sign when he’s giving it away for free.

Peace.

One Response

  1. I’m sorry your trunk show won’t be in Chattanooga, but you’ll undoubtedly sell more in the Big City.

    I got a steroid injection in my knee today, too. I hope they both work! I didn’t know that he’d be wanting me to be a “couch potato” for two days. I’ve got a couple of things that I have to do that won’t require walking, but no swim class, and will miss a few events. I’d planned to vote tomorrow, but it’ll depend on whether or not there’s a line when I go by.

    Let’s keep those knees happy. Glad the cart worked for you and you didn’t get a ticket!

Leave a Reply

