Thinking and Speaking and Economitis

Have I really not blogged in a week?  What was I thinking?! 

That’s an easy question.  I was thinking about my back.  It has hurt so bad and so persistently that for several days I gave up on walking further than 10 yards or standing longer than a few minutes.  It hurt so bad that I remembered I had lidocaine patches to anesthetize the area, but also found that they were not very helpful with the more intense pain.  The pain was so bad that I bought another cane while I was out of town, because I left mine at home.  Finally, the pain plagued me so much that I didn’t want to answer when people asked how I felt, for fear I would really tell them.  And finally, I woke up today, and the pain wasn’t there. 

 

But that’s not all.  I was thinking about my daughter, and enjoying visiting her in the apartment she rents with a good friend from school.  We had a ton of laughs, I played school chauffeur like when she was a little girl, we didn’t shop (surprise!), and we had vegetarian burritos from Barberitos.  It was a wonderful visit.

 

But wait, there’s more.  I began serious thinking about my next housing move.  I scanned real estate websites, talked to my realtor, and made a loose inventory of what I must do before my house can be shown.  I’ve had in mind for a couple of years that this move was coming.  I knew it was time to downsize, and I definitely want to be closer to the hub of the city.  (No, that does not mean moving into the neighborhood of the new Volkswagen plant.)  I don’t want a floor that I can’t get to every day.  I don’t want any extra bedrooms.  I want a house I can clean all by myself.  And I want to save money.  A major drawing-in of tentacles, that’s what I want. 

 

And ladies and gentlemen, here’s the ginsu knives of the thinking thing:  I’ve been thinking about the economy so much that I have economitis.  Not having won the lottery recently, it concerns me that Wall Street and the whole banking/investing/insurance industry mess is so huge.  I’ve been watching television every day, waiting for the third shoe to drop.  Or is it the fifth or eleventh shoe?  David Letterman is on right now, talking about making a deal with a guy in the audience who has $13.20.  I’m beginning to feel like that.  Drop a nickel in the slot, please.  This is a for-profit blog.  Seriously, I’m gonna have to get out my “Will Knit for Food” sign.

 

Speaking of knitting (yeah, I was just waiting for that) I photographed some caps today and got back on schedule with posting new stuff in the store.  I seem to be stuck on cables.  No, I don’t need help.  I mean I’m obsessed with them.  They are pretty and curvey and they make extra texture and the cable part sticks out.  I’m in love with them.  Everything I’m making lately wants to have cables.  I hope there’s an antidote for whenever I get tired of this obsession, but for now it’s working for me.  If I hadn’t cut my hair off in the spring, I think I would be imitating cables in my braided hairdos. 

 

Speaking of hairdos, I went through the famous coffee drive-through today.  The guy on the microphone was a free-range talker, willing to keep up aimless but friendly chatter with the customers.  When I saw him I had to admire his tousled hairdo.  I tried to imitate it by pulling up on my front hair and bunching it up.  My cousin was in the car with me and she said it didn’t really look like his.  Oh well. 

 

No more “speaking of”.  I must have a good David Letterman, go to sleep, and prepare for my Saturday knitting adventures.  Oh heck, one more thing.  I put my Obama ’08 sticker on my back bumper today.  I am so ready.

 

Peace!

Leave a Reply

