Things I Do in the Fall

I just realized that I might have my first non-flaring fall in many years.  I’ve speculated that the increased light exposure from summer (even though I try and avoid it) eventually causes a flare that manifests itself in the fall.  I began to notice this because I was never healthy for football season, and missed seeing all my boys play.  My daughter was a basketball cheerleader two years in high school, and I missed the first games of the season.  Usually I was recovering by late winter, and feeling better in the spring and summer.  That’s the old schedule.  Now, with the help of the current therapy, I’m looking forward to a fall when I’m improving rather than flaring. 

 

Those fall flares have been more of an insult, because fall has always been my favorite time of the year.  The feeling of crisp, cooler air, the leaves changing colour, the summer drought ending-all those things make fall feel wonderful to me.  Much more than spring, they felt like a beginning to me. 

 

My adherence to an academic schedule rather than a calendar year schedule also made fall the beginning.  There were new challenges, new projects, new people…all the things that held my interest and made my work more interesting. 

 

This year, I’m determined to use some new yarns.  I opened two packages that came a month ago, and that I deliberately left sitting in the foyer, tempting me, until I couldn’t remember what they held.  When I pulled them open yesterday, the new yarns in them were a wonderful “surprise”.  All three are new to me:  Karabella Breeze (40% cashmere/60% silk), thin and refined; Buffalo Gals (70% bison/30% merino), tightly spun with some long coarse hairs; and South West Trading Company Saphira (100% merino), a fat superwash single-ply, beautifully dyed.  All of these were ordered with specific projects in mind.  I have pictured what I want them to be, and I will show them as they develop.  I am proud that none of these late purchases is a duplication of anything in my stash.  I am selecting yarns with increasing discrimination and thrift.  (Yes, thrift.  I said it, didn’t I?)

 

My fall will have some new people this year.  As I improve, I’ve begun to call people and make plans to meet.  I am expecting myself to become more mobile, and I am setting up obligations that rely on that.  There is a certain faith in that.  More than just being hopeful, I am leaping off the edge with the certainty that I will grow wings to sustain my flight.  If I hit bottom instead, oh well, it won’t be the first time.  My butt is padded. 

 

Two days ago I tackled the huge pile of belongings left in my front room by one of the boys as he departed for school.  “You can just send these to me,” he said.  I didn’t yell and scream at the time.  We were headed to the bus station with him and his three giant rolling duffles, and I needed my energy for other things.  I waited for him to settle into his dorm room and realize that he and his two roommates wouldn’t survive the influx of another pile of-largely unnecessary-paraphernalia.  This week, I packed five medium-sized boxes of essentials (yeah, he left his winter jacket, boots, sheets…), entrusted them to the U. S. Postal Service, and sorted the rest to charity or storage.  Now, if I can make it through the left-behind belongings of the other two before another year dawns…it’s a wonder that mothers don’t find themselves running down the streets of their neighborhoods, hands in the air, screaming undecipherable laments. 

 

I ordered some “Jesus was a community organizer” buttons this week.  More than most insults, the McCain/Palin portrayal of a community organizer as a useless citizen with an insignificant job was ignorant and cruel.  Yes, it was rude to all of us who have ever tried to organize a community movement, sit on a volunteer board, spread a public service message, or provide a needed service in an underserved area.  More than that, it was a slap in the face to the folks who are helped by all such community efforts.  It said to them that their loss of jobs, their unsafe living conditions, their poorly educated children, their lack of affordable health care, their dismally impoverished lives, are insignificant.  It said that they aren’t worth helping, educating, protecting or representing.  I have been a registered Independent all my life, and I always thought myself capable of separating the message from the party, but the conduct of Republicans in this election makes me want to change my affiliation to Democrat forever.

 

So, I guess that’s the other thing that this fall means to me.  This is the most ferocious, thought-provoking, history-making presidential election of my lifetime.  It’s all on the backdrop of a war that I consider unnecessary and national economic woes that are affecting my own bottom line.  So this fall will be remembered for headaches and heartburn along with the other features I’ve noted. 

 

Peace.

One Response

  1. Yea I thought Giuliani, the man who tried to win the primary by campaigning solely in Florida (genius he is), was particularly smarmy and insulting at the GOP convention.

    Fortunately, all of this is not really working for Cain. I would have liked to see a decent conservative, but, oh well.

    By the way, got my early ballot today in the mail! After showing it to the kids in school, will send it out. Should be awesome. While I have a lot of beliefs like Palin, I kind of suspect she is bonkers in terms of her willingness to be used, and her desire for the spotlight; it’s a beauty contest to her, or a game.

    Can’t wait to see “O” win and address some serious problems in this country.

Leave a Reply

