Bamboo and Cables

I am listening to Senator Obama discuss serving your country, and the need to provide a greater range of service opportunities for our young people.  He notes that military opportunities are offered inconsistently, with more of the population of small towns making up our troops.  His suggestions of inviting ROTC back onto campuses that have dismissed the program, of decreasing the cost of college education in return for service, and of increasing the foreign service positions for non-military duties in order to take the burden off our military-these all make sense to me.  He talks about our building support for one another, stopping the self-interest and divisiveness. 

 

He’s the epitomy of what I have longed for in a President for this nation.  My heart is crying out for this man to be heard and judged fairly, for people to see their own bigotry and prevent it from affecting their votes.  After the past eight years, America deserves this man.  We’ve earned the right to have an intelligent, truthful, enthusiastic, inclusive administration. 

 

Some days I cannot turn on my television and see the crazy roads that campaigns tread.  I find myself putting up the same walls that one would use to keep from getting too attached to a potential mate.  I am so afraid of disappointment with the outcome of this election that I don’t want to envision the wonderful possibilities that would come from Obama being elected. 

 

Sometimes I grow to dislike a yarn as I use it.  It’s a bad scene, struggling through the last ten thousand stitches of a half-done garment with the yarn fighting against you.  Right now I’m having the delightful opposite experience.  I’m using elann.com’s surprisingly inexpensive superwash wool/bamboo mix.  I’m in love with this yarn.  It turns out neat stitches, doesn’t fight my needles, has nice elasticity, and it seems to make my hands softer as I use it.  The green that I chose for this baby blanket is soft, heathered, easy on the eyes.  I first used the yarn to knit a sample for elann.com (you can see it here:  elann.com – elann.com Superwash Bamboo).  I enjoyed it so much that I ordered some for myself in several colours.  Can’t believe I waited this long to begin knitting with it. 

 

Last week at knitting group, I had a short circular needle that I tucked into my baby blanket and removed to use as a cable needle.  One of my knitting buddies saw what I was doing and showed me that I could knit the cable stitches without transferring them to a separate needle.  I couldn’t think it through and make it happen smoothly with all the conversation and activity, but yesterday I tried again.  Once I thought about what I do when I cross cable stitches, it was easy to reproduce what my knitting friend taught me.  It sure speeds up the progress of this baby blanket, with it’s little cables on either side.  Many thanks! 

 

I’m excited when I learn something new.  Sometimes Daddy would ask me what I learned in school that day.  I would feel bad if I couldn’t come up with something specific that had been added to my knowledge or skill.  My view of school was pretty narrow.  If I wasn’t getting better in some way, my time there was wasted.  Sometimes in high school, I was allowed to be on independent study for a course.  Those times were special because I could actually control my learning pace and assure that my time and work were productive.  If I was doing independent study and wanted a break, I could read a book.  That was much better than being in class, where I could only sit and doodle and twiddle my thumbs when I wasn’t engaged.  I know, a nerdy confession. 

 

Seven more weeks.  Ready, set, vote.

 

Peace.

One Response

  1. We need to hear more from Senator Obama! We’re crying out for intelligence.

Leave a Reply

