Superwash Bamboo Baby Blanket

This is one of those days when I wonder if I will ever run out of places that hurt.  I had a few weeks of sacroiliac pain, and now one knee and thigh are intensely painful.  I’ve limped around the house for two days and I’m doing my usual waiting period before I contact my doc.  Lupus is like this.  Meanwhile, I make my meals, and sit and knit.

 

I prepared all my stuff for mailing today, and my young cousin made the trip to the Post Office.  It felt good to see packages going out the door, some things completed. 

 

I’m working the elann.com Superwash Bamboo, which is actually 65% superwash wool/35% bamboo.  It’s comfortable and flexible in my hands after all the knitting with cotton and plain bamoo.  I’m making a baby blanket with a sweet little cable running up each edge.  I snapped some quick photos.  It was difficult to show off the cable, but here’s the rough view:

 These are small cables, 4 stitches across.  I think the scale will be perfect for a baby blnket.  One ball of yarn made about 7 inches, and I anticipate the blanket being about 28-30 inches square, including a perpendicular edging for each side.  The bottom is garter stitch for about 3/4 inch.  This yarn is less than $3 per ball, so it makes a very reasonably-priced baby blanket from natural materials that feel smooth and luxurious.  The bamboo is a special plus, since it has antibacterial properties that persist even after 50 washes.  I much prefer this to wrapping an infant in acrylic fiber. 

 

I am writing this pattern as I go, and I will print it here and offer it free when the blanket is finished. 

 

When I have a larger project on my needles, like a blanket or sweater, I like to take breaks and work on smaller, quick-finish pieces.  I think I’ll grab a ball of cashmere and finish my night with a hat. 

 

I’ve been making time in my days to answer my cousin’s knitting questions and help her move on to new projects.  She’s a natural.  Her second project has neat, even stitches and no glaring mistakes.  She’s on her third, stacking up simple items that she can use for gifts.  With her knit stitches coming so easily, it’s time to cast on and purl.  Be forewarned:  sit still for a few minutes in my house, and I’ll teach you to knit. 

 

Peace.

Leave a Reply

