Crazy Woman Knitting

I am writing this under suboptimal computer circumstances.  My trusty laptop has outlived two power cords in two years, and I’m waiting for HP to rush me another.  I actually sprung for next-day delivery, because I cannot live without my regular notebook.  I’m not ashamed to say it either.  Currently I’m typing on a five year-old Sony Vaio that served valiantly for a teen who did zero maintenance and permitted the influx of every piece of adware on the web.  It cuts off with fearful regularity.  I just lost 400 words that I painstakingly typed here.  My desktop, not to be outdone, went on the fritz today.  When I turn it on it gives me powerful fan and zero computing.  Go figure. 

 

Fortunately, the most important computer in the house worked flawlessly today.  It was strapped to my daughter, picking up the images sent by the capsule camera that she swalloed.  She’s had her GI tract examined from every angle over the past two weeks, submitting to three preps, and she wasn’t at all interested in the tiny computer at her waist, but I was fascinated. 

 

I grew up, so to speak, in the early days of flexible endoscopy at Johns Hopkins.  One of the master inventors of this fabulous tool was on the GI staff while I was there, and we called what his patients received “The Bowel Run of the Stars”.  They were admitted to the hospital for their preparation, and treated to wonderful visits from the innovator himself, wearing fine Italian suits.  (Innovation paid well in those days.) 

 

My own first episode of colitis occurred just before I took the MCAT (Medical College Admission Test).  When the doc recommended a rigid sigmoidoscopy, I was clueless.  Imagine my surprise and elation when I discovered, after a prep of laxatives and enemas, that I was to have a long, cold, metal tube inserted into my rectum.  Kanye said it best:  “Th-tha-that-that that don’t kill me, can only make me stronga.”  Right?

 

I’ve had two episodes of colitis since then, both explored with the civilized flexible endoscope.  Praise God. They have erased the initial experience from my mind enough that I even went for my 50 year-old screening colonoscopy. 

 

The body and sleeves of the pink Cotton Fleece sweater are seamed, and I’ve given it more than ten rinses to remove excess dye before I add white trim.  It is securely pinned to my stack of towels in the craft room, blocking in the gentle wind of the ceiling fan.  I am pleased, and excited to finish.  There’s less than two hours of finishing work left, unless I decide to embroider the flowers on (and I probably will).  I used short rows to extend the top of the sleeve, so that they wouldn’t come out of the shoulder at a right angle, but with appropriate fullness and curve.  That’s the inside of the shoulder and underarm of the sleeve in the photo. 

 

I took a break for a couple of hours yesterday and knitted a cap from Noro Blossom.  It’s lovely, very bold looking.  I need to edit the photos before I show them.  Sometimes I deliberately pick up something with a different needle size and gauge, resting my hands.  Today I began a quick shawl from the two skeins of Colinette Firecracker, purchased at a Flying Fingers sale.  The colourway is Crazy Woman, so appropriate for my past two weeks.  It’s 70% mohair/30% nylon, a big curly mass of blue and red and purple.  Very satisfying.

 

I have imposed on the Gods of Computer Preservation long enough.  Better publish before my machine takes a dive.

 

Peace.

One Response

  1. Essie, my laptop has been cutting off on a regular basis. GJ, Jr. says I need a new laptop. What are you getting? Let me know.

    I am really enjoying your knitting comments and all. I can really learn how you are feeling when I read your blogs. Praying you get well and that your body is healed.

    Love and Peace,
    Myra

Leave a Reply

