Did You Say “Salmon Croquettes”?!

It’s Tuesday morning and I have to write like the wind.  My laptop cord is messing up, and I’m on a limited battery.  This is the only problem I’ve ever had with this laptop.  Time for cord number three.  The time pressure is not a real problem.  This post has been developing in my head, much the same way as a knitting design takes shape.

 

First, a note on the recent dead.  My first great concert as a teen was Isaac Hayes in Houston, Texas.  My big sister took me.  Mr. Hayes opened in his chains, with his deep, rich voice, and I was smitten.  So sad to see the end of his time with us.  And Bernic Mac!  What can you say about that man except that he was 100% entertainer.  I never felt his roughness completely hid his sweet side.  Sarcoidosis is a disease that can range from benign to deadly.  I lost a favorite patient during my pregnancy, a young woman who died of sarcoid lung complications.  She gave me a denim jumper that she had worn while pregnant, and I wore it to make rounds the next day.  That was the last time she was fully conscious, and I was glad to be able to show off her thoughtful gift.  Descriptions of Bernie Mac, struggling to breathe and fighting fatigue, remind me of her difficult last days.  Another young patient had a slow, wickedly insidious demise, from sarcoidosis of the brain.  The granulomas gradually invaded more and more of his brain, first causing seizures, then mental deterioration and mood changes, then severe dementia and finally coma.  This is only a third of sarcoid patients.  About a third of them have one or two episodes and no further trouble.  Many live for decades with only occasional flares.  It’s a young person’s disease. 

 

Of course we’ve had our minds on disease in this household, with Dayna still undergoing tests.  It’s that tightrope you walk between wanting to know what’s causing the pain and not wanting to hear a bad diagnosis.  Hopefully it will be resolved soon.  The humor of the friendship developing between my daughter and our cousin, separated by just three years of age, is the better side of my child continuing to be at home. 

 

I had my back injected yesterday, a needle for each sacroiliac joint.  That puts me on very limited activity for 48 hours, with some intense pain right now while the medication stirs up inflammation at the injection sites.  I have time to knit and knit. 

 

Yesterday morning I did maintenance on my farm.  I sat on my rollie cart and scooted around, tying up long tomato vines, some heavily laden with fruit.  I’m going to have some Paul Robeson’s and Goose Creeks soon.  They’ve been slow, but they’re with us still.  The Rutgers and Black Plum continue to grace us with fruit almost daily.  I took the first bell pepper a few days ago, and diced some of it yesterday.  There are more jalapenos than I can use.  Dried peppers for the winter, I see.

 

This is the little girl’s Cotton Fleece sweater two days ago.  Now the whold bodice is finished and I’ve been working on the sleeves simultaneously, cast on to one needle. 

The animal is keeping me company while I have to spend my days sitting.  Inspired by the Olympics, she is a sleeping champion.

 

Yesterday we had a real treat.  A friend brought her one month-old baby and eight year-old to visit.  We know the older child well, having kept her one summer for several weeks.  She immediately went to play with Lucy.  The baby curled up (much like Lucy, above) and took turns sleeping in my arms and in Dayna’s.  Sweet, sweet.   I adore babies.  Talking with my friend, who was surprised by the latter pregnancy, was a treat, too.

 

My cousin has been introduced to tofu, veggie patties, apple/potato pancakes, and other wonders of foodland since she arrived.  A few days ago she asked if I cooked salmon croquettes and I had a mini-stroke.  They were one of the foods that I was happy to leave behind in my childhood.  Yesterday I had a change of heart.  She’s been tolerant, and I can be, too.  I looked up a recipe in Allrecipes.com, and she and I prepared it together.  It had dill and wheat germ instead of cornmeal or breakcrumbs and salt.  They were delicious. 

 

Well, I’ve made it on battery alone without skipping any words.  I know I didn’t talk about Vogue Knitting, which has some breathtaking designs this issue, but tomorrow is another day. 

 

Peace.

3 Responses

  1. Love the pink sweater! I have used crochet hooks with large handles but they don’t help. I still hope to be able to go back to crochet some day. My hands are so bad these days I have to take many breaks. This Susie Hoodie is a major project and is taking me a long time because of the breaks. Can’t wait to get done. Your baby(dog) is a cutie! How old is he?

  2. I’m sending positive thoughts Dayna’s way. Hope all is well.

    Tell cousin if she needs rescuing from tofu, give me a call ; )

  3. It is really looking wonderful….

Leave a Reply

