Checking on the Crop and (Gasp!) Beeturia

Chris planted these peppers this week – two red bell peppers and a jalapeno.   He likes to cook spicey.  This week he made an Alfredo sauce that was out of this world, so good that I got extra and dipped bread in it.  I was eating the whole wheat sandwich bread from Niedlov’s.  I think it’s my favorite whole wheat bread ever.  It’s soft and has a tangy flavor.  Their loaves are so beautiful that sometimes I want to buy them as works of art.  I have to remind myself that you don’t choose bread on looks.                                                             These two plants with the tomatoes on them already are the Black Plum tomatoes.  They’re supposed to grow well in pots and produce tons of tomatoes.  I’m so excited about having our own that I’m not buying them in the store.  I use canned organics in the sauces I cook right now.  I can wait for lucious organics from our own crop for everything else, especially since I can see them starting to grow.  All the plants have numerous yellow blossoms, the ones that precede the tiny fruit. 

 

I do think the compost that Dayna dug out and lugged across the yard has made a difference already.  The plants have grown so fast, and don’t seem to lose their moisture quite as fast as last year.  I’m watering each morning since the temperature is in the 90s daily this week. 

 

I found an interesting beet recipe in allrecipes.com.  I had a half-dozen small fresh beets from the Village Market, and I wanted to do something besides boil and slice them.  I don’t like pickled beets much, but I love fresh ones.  This simple recipe called for the boiled, stripped beets to be diced and added to diced hard-boiled eggs with a mayonnaise dressing.  I used half veggie mayo and half Greek yogurt, and it was terrific.  I had two big servings (probably the most beets I’ve ever eaten at one time) and the next day my urine was pink.  You know me, I had to look it up.  I discovered that beets contain betacyanin, which has numerous health benefits and gives the beet its deep red colour.  Most people have the ability to digest betacyanin and absorb it into their system, but there is a recessive gene that prevents that.  In folks who inherit two recessive genes (one from each parent), the substance isn’t broken down, and it is excreted in urine, dying the urine pink or red.  I’m dying to poll my sisters on beets and pink pee.  I don’t recall the topic coming up in the past, but we should all have this trait.  Maybe I should just make a big bowl of beet salad for family reunion, and have everyone report their results.  A big family means a nice large sample size for experimentation. 

 

Hopefully, some of my crop will be ready for harvest soon.  You know I’ll show you photos.  Meanwhile, I’ll be reading my new Farmer John’s Cookbook: The Real Dirt on Vegetables, learning more ways to grow the things I love so much.

 

Peace. 

4 Responses

  1. Yum! I thought everybody’s urine turned red when one ate lots of beets – didn’t know it was a genetic thing. Now, how do I bring this up in a conversation to share this new bit of knowledge. 8^)

  2. Tag you’re it, in blog tag. Details of the game at my blog. A blog friend got me, and although I don’t usually do these, this one sounded like fun. Just ignore it if it isn’t your cup of tea.

  3. There are tears in my eyes. Stop now, I can’t breathe. Pink urine! How sweet! Granpa would have Loved, Loved to compare notes on pee color.

    Remember, as he often quoted, “The “P” is silent, as in Swimming.”

  4. That book looks good and I wanna eat some beets and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

