Memorial Day, No Barbecue

Yayy!  I’m up to full speed with my knitting.  Since it was a holiday weekend, I didn’t work on the sample or do any charity work.  I am halfway finished with two baby blankets.  One is a Shine cotton (Knitpicks) in golden yellow and blue, the other is Berroco Plush with purple, rose and aqua stripes.  I’ve had as many as half-dozen baby blankets in my store, and currently there are none.  The next blanket will be organic cotton, which I am attempting to use with greater frequency.  I ordered some elann.com Pakucho organic cotton in “avocado” (a very gentle shade of green) to make a shawl for myself.  It’s the Voyager Lace Stole from Vogue Knitting, Spring/Summer 2008.  It is absolutely gorgeous, and will be my first big, overall lace project.  I will knit it for myself, with additional length and bredth.  The piece is featured on the Pakucho organic cotton page at www.elann.com.  I do have some other things on needles, including a blanket for one relative and a pair of socks for another, and I’ll squeeze in some time on them after I feel that the store is adequately stocked. 

 

When I showed the Shine Worsted “Sunflower” to my knitting group, I asked whether they thought it was appropriate for a baby.  I wish I could show you, but I haven’t photographed it yet, and it’s a color that Knitpicks no longer carries.  All but two of the women said it worked for babies.  The two objectors said “Jaundice!”  I kind of see their point, but any baby jaundiced enough to blend in with this color is gonna have to be in the hospital under the bili lights.  Nevertheless, I came home and looked at my stash shelves for another color, preferably something that wouldn’t be gender-binding, and all I could find was purple.  I continued to knit with just the yellow.  Today I was walking past the same set of shelves and a lovely shade of light aqua in Shine Worsted jumped out at me.  It is called “Wave” and looks beautiful with the deep yellow-gold.  I have knit it into that blanket and it added a cool dimension.  Photos tomorrow, I hope. 

 

We had a short visit from friends this evening.  This mother-daughter pair have been our friends for almost all the girls’ lives, but I think that, in truth, they visit more to see the dog than to see us.  There’s a permanent, passionate love affair going on there.  I had to restrain Lucy from jumping off the bed onto her lame hip when she heard their voices at the door.  We spent most of our visit watching television.  You can be a lazy hostess like that when your visitors are practically family. 

 

Speaking of family, we are less than two months from the family reunion.  I’m looking forward to seeing everyone.  My favorite part of reunion is spending time with the folks that I never see.  We’re meeting in a city that I’ve visited often, so I won’t be sight-seeing or making the rounds of the attractions.  I’m considering one art exhibit and lots of yarn store visits.  Wonder how many “sit and knits” I can fit in during the four days of the reunion? 

 

I have that feeling that I’m coming down with something.  I’ve slept extra this week to try and fix whatever is making me tired and congested.  I’ll be fine, as long as I can celebrate Daddy’s 90th birthday this week and get to my host son’s graduation Saturday.  I can make it without perfect health.  That’s the norm for me.  Overall I am doing so well that it isn’t a difficult acceptance.  I am tickled every time I get on my bike and put in another 15 or 20 minutes.  It takes me such a long time to get to this point after a bad flare. 

 

Daddy told me he doesn’t want anything for his birthday except for the dinner that is planned.  This isn’t even unusual in his family.  He has a 92 year-old sister, and their mother lived to be over 100.  Hope I have those genes!  I could have a lot of fun in the next 50 years! 

 

Peace.

 

 

One Response

  1. Enjoy the birthday party! 🙂

Leave a Reply

