Chemocaps, Cookies, and Conversation with Daddy

Wow, could this be a more perfect evening?  A two-hour NCIS, my computer, slap-yo-mama cookies, and knitting to show.  Okay, yes, it could be better.  My favoritest male person (not George or Denzel) could be here, but hey, four out of five ain’t bad. 

 

Slap-yo-mama cookies (or any slap-yo-mama creation) is something that is so good it makes you want to do something foolish.  In my upbringing, you couldn’t do anything more foolish than slapping your mother.  It was a death sentence.  These cookies are from Martha (who else?!) and are made with butter and cocoa.  Need I say more?  http://www.marthastewart.com/mocha-slice-cookies?xsc=stf_MSLO-RECIPE  is the place to find the recipe.  However, I made some modifications.  Of course I did.  I did not have eggs or espresso powder.  I substituted 1/4 cup of soy milk and instant coffee.  My “butter” is Smart Balance Light.  My flour was half white and half wheat.  I didn’t coat the cookies with sugar on the outside. 

 

Actually, the lupus awareness kicked in while I was preparing these.  My thinking was this:  they want me to take this messy cookie dough and turn it out on a messy flour surface and roll it into a long tube, place it inside a paper towel tube and put it in the refrigerator.  Is that going to make my cookies taste better?  No.  It is a shape thing.  I don’t care what shape my cookies are.  I am tired and my back is hurting when I stand up too long.  I am going to defy Martha, take my dough just as it is and drop teaspoons of it onto the parchment paper (on the cookie sheet).  I am cooking it now.  No frig, no tube, no extra clean-up.  I did just that.  My little cookie mounds took about three minutes longer to cook.  They are delicious.  There is a minor aesthetic problem (you know, the way they look like teeny piles of poop). 

 

Now for the knitting.  I got 1/8 inch elastic and threaded it through the front of the chemo-cap scarf today.  Then I turned that section under about 1/4 inch and stitched it down.  That scarf started as a 30-inch long garter stitch triangle with an eyelet border.  I began with three stitches, then increased at either end of each row by making a knit 1, yarn over.  After the first 20 rows, I began to increase every other row.  The front edge has some eyelet treatment that I think is just so-so.  If I was doing it again, I would have garter stitched right up to the edge.  After I bound off the triangle, I crossed the tie ends in the back, using my head as a sizer, and bound them with a length of crocheted chain.  Then I sewed the apex of the triangle (the point that hangs down in the center back) to the knot.  This makes a secure cap that will stay on the head and not need any readjustment of the back tie.  By the way, the yarn is Knitpicks Crayon.  It is 100% cotton, very soft.  It can be machine washed, but don’t put in dryer.

       

 

The next cap is much different.  I started it at the brim, knitted a scalloped edge with eyelets made by yarnovers.  It was knitted in the round, very simple stockinette, with a gradual decrease to the apex.  I crocheted a row of singles around the brim so that it wouldn’t roll up.  It neatened it without eliminating the scallop pattern.  The yarn is what makes it special.  It’s elann.com Esprit, 98.3% cotton/1.7% elastic.  There’s just enough elastic to make the cap hug the head comfortably, and the cotton is soft and wearable. 

       

I love this cap.  I will make more.  I need to increase those two hats to at least eight to make a decent start at the chemo office I used in January. 

 

Babysitting the parents this morning was fun.  A conversation with my dad, as well as I can remember it:

Daddy:  I know you have to pay attention to other people’s feelings, but sometimes I just want to say “stop all that worrying”.

Me:  I know what you mean.  I saw that a lot when I was working.  I wished there was a switch where you could just turn off people’s worries. 

Daddy:  When they were bombing us and shooting at us in Germany and Korea, I couldn’t stop and worry.

Me:  How did you handle it?

Daddy:  Concentrated on the job I had to do.

Me:  Yeah, I learned that in college.  ___ used to break up with me just before big exams.  I learned to put it out of my mind and study, because I couldn’t let that craziness mess up my grades. 

A good conversation for us.  He rarely speaks of his war days, I rarely talk about my first husband. 

 

Peace.

 

 

2 Responses

  1. I love the yellow tie-in-the-back cap. Did you mean to say “triangle” rather than “rectangle”? If so, I think I understand – otherwise, I don’t.

    Glad you had a good time with your folks!

  2. Very beautiful work. You should create patterns to sell in a site, because your designs are very pretty.

Leave a Reply

