Noro Spiral Hat

I’m not talking about you-know-who today because I can’t do it without evoking the sadness that comes from being hurt by those that you thought loved you.  Every newscast of the hurt party reveals the unbelieving anger, frustration and pain in his eyes.  And the leering, manic, self-appointed wise man is undeterred by the fact that he not only hurts his former friend, he is potentially hurting a whole country. 

 

When I am disturbed I move on to something comforting.  Today I put effort into dinner, chopping veggies, making Israeli couscous, composing a sauteed tofu dish.  I put more effort into the hat I started last night.  When I finished my writing yesterday I was already in need of a simple project.  I put down the secret competition sock and picked up a ball of Noro Silk Garden Lite.  I cast on 103 stitches and started knitting in the round at a gauge of 5 stitches per inch.  I knitted six rounds, making a roll-up brim, then began to knit 5, purl 5, all the way around.  I continued to spiral with the knit 5, purl 5, and this is what I have so far.  If the photo isn’t visible, click in the square and a large view will appear.

 

  I love the fat spirals going around the hat, and all the beautiful Noro colors.  The pattern does not start over at the beginning of each round, so there’s no need to place a marker.  You continue to knit 5, purl 5, around and around and around. 

 

I’m surprised that the photo survived.  My computer chose to die during the uploading of the photos.  I had a few anxious minutes while I removed the battery and waited, then rebooted it.  I think this is a sign that I had better do the backup I’ve been putting off.  I’m not going to stress it any more tonight. 

 

Peace!

2 Responses

  1. LOVE the hat! I’ll have to see what I can find in my stash to approximate that gauge and texture.

  2. Oops, forgot to ask. How are you going to finish the top off? More photos, she begs.

Leave a Reply

