Good Thursday Stew

Lord, my life is wonderful.  Dr. Phil is sitting on his stage with a married couple who are trying to figure out what to do with their relationship now that the husband is openly gay.  Wife kinda knew from the git, but denied her way into accepting him as a husband.  Thank you, Dr. Phil, for saying “this is not a marriage” and encouraging them to divorce and hopefully model real relationships for their children.  This is none of my business.  Oh wait, they just happen to be on my television set having this discussion.  Not like I invited them.  Why do people need to go on national tv to have these life-changing conversations?  Why not just find a local family therapist and book a few sessions?  Oops, what am I doing talking about this?  This is not the topic of the day!

 

I am ecstatic.  All the tests are in, and my kidneys and heart are normal.  Whatever happened last week was transient.  It came, it danced, and it left the stage.  I feel the same now as I did two weeks ago.  That includes the stuff moving around in my head, but that seems so benign compared to the symptoms I’ve seen in the course of this, um, episode?  illness?  excursion into the dark side of health?  I don’t have any limitations on my activities from my doc, except as common sense and energy dictate.

 

And what am I having to celebrate this good health?  A vegetarian stew that started with sauteed onions and garlic (big surprise), diced summer squash, a jar of scrumptious, home-grown and canned tomatoes from a generous friend, a large can of hominy, a block of firm tofu crumbled into the pot, and some reconstituted sun-dried tomatoes and bell pepper.  Cajun seasoning.  Extra shake of oregano.  20-minutes of simmering.  By the end the smell has me too weak and hungry to write full sentences.  This is so delicious. 

 

Some important housekeeping chores.  This is a blog that is open to the public.  When comments become too personal and identifying, or a forum for discussion that isn’t blog-related, I will edit and delete as I see fit.  Please don’t take it personally.  We can all have blogs, and write and maintain them as suits our individual topics.  Because I am a physician (working or not) I may have a peculiarly rigid slant regarding things that might identify someone or discuss a personal aspect of any individual’s health or health-care experience.  Once you go HIPPA, you never go back.  Even better, once you go Hippocratic, you never go back. 

 

Peace. 

7 Responses

  1. Wonderful news, Essie! Congratulations to you and your doc for finding good stuff. The cooking smells from your house are heavenly!

    Apologies for the cross-current conversation – we’ll try to behave (hard as that may be).

  2. OMG! Amazing! Fabulous! Yipee!

  3. Hey, I put too much water in the cook-it-from-frozen concoction (Volka Penne, yum), so I added more water, brought it to a boil, added a cup of couscous and some frozen peas, took it off the heat, put a cover on it, went away, came back. Thought of you. Except, you know I added no seasoning!

    Thread stealers on probation, Salute!

  4. Great news about your kidneys and heart! Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. I’m so glad to hear the good news! I view diversions into weird episodes/illnesses/whatever-they-are as reminders from my guardian angel that he is doing the best that he can. Returning to the “normal” state of being (I have yet to *ever* feel really “normal”) makes me realize that I don’t have it so bad, after all.
    I appreciate your desire to keep up with HIPPA and being hippocratic, so I have decided to be who I really am, the bee lady. I will endeavor to behave, as far as cross-posting, but my genetics fight me on that.

  6. I’m so glad you’re feeling better. And that there’s no lasting damage.

    I can’t stand Dr. Phill, but we all have our little tv guilty pleasures. Mine used to be “Wife Swap”. 🙂

  7. Glad things are normal, medically, aside from the L. I have to catch up on these posts.

Leave a Reply

