Picking Up Your Knits

I gave myself the day off and then spent the whole afternoon working.  That’s the way it is when you start to have more energy and feel more well.  (Yes, that is exactly what I mean – more “well” as opposed to more sick.)  You do things just because you are grateful that you can, and it feels good doing them after months of stagnating. My yarn and other supplies are in disarray, and I was up to performing a good purging.  I couldn’t have done it without the help of Wonderful Son, who moved a shelf and took two bins of books to the used book store.  Looking at the newly emptied shelves inspired me to clear out some bins of yarn and do some organizing.  I gathered up projects on needles and isolated them with their respective piles of yarn by placing them in 2.5 gallon Ziplock bags.  A little pressure as I zipped them, and I had my own space bags. 

My cashmere (laaaaaaaa, can you hear the choir of angels singing?) is all together in one place now.  Completed cashmere projects for the fall show are starting to stack up.  What a luxurious bundle!  Likewise, I separated all my organic cotton.  I love to see it piled together, with the gentle colors from cream to chocolate.  This is the cotton fiber that I enjoy knitting, and I love wrapping babies and toddlers in it.

I threw away a pile of (shudder!) acrylic.  It multiplied in my house when I began to knit again because it came in such a seductive array of novelties-totally unlike anything available in my early knitting years.  Somehow I had a pile of swatches knit and crocheted to various rectangular sizes, then abandoned because of my lack  of satisfaction with their texture and drape.  How did I accumulate so many uglies?!  They have been an excellent lesson. 

I haven’t tackled the hand-dyed wools or the bags of alpaca.  I didn’t deal with the orgasm of Noro, but when I do it will decorate the room all by itself.  Sometimes I think I should get rid of half of my art collection and place skeins of yarn high on the walls to take the place of those paintings.  It would have the same effect, and perhaps more naturally.  Think how warm to be in a room decorated by yarn alone.  I took KnitKnit off the shelf.  You should see how I handle my knitting books, caressing the covers like they are my old buddies.  Isabel Berglund is one of the amazing modern fiber artists that Sabrina Gschwandtner features in her book.  Berglund has an entire knitted room installed in the Charlottenborg Exhibition Hall in Copenhagen.  The walls have garments knitted into them, so that visitors can slip into them and become a part of the room.  Yarn on the walls.  I could live like that.

Tonight I finished a chemocap that I started a few days ago.  I had been furtively working on it in moments of rest from my larger project.  The yarn is Risata, a sock yarn from Knitpicks, cotton and superwash wool with a bit of nylon and elastic.  I try to knit chemocaps in washable yarns because they get lots of use.  They need to stay on a slippery head, one that is notably smaller in circumference without the hair.  I cast on about 72 stitches on size 6 needles.  Knitting flat, I made about an inch of 1×1 rib, then switched to 3×3 rib for the body of the cap.  When it was as deep as I liked, I decreased to 3×2 rib then 2×2, then 2×1 and finally 1×1, using knit-two-together decreases every three or four rows.  (Just go with it.  You can do this.)  At the very top I changed to stockinette.  I wove the end yarn through the last 12 stitches and used it to seam the back.  Weave in, block if you like, and wear.  Or, as in this case, donate to your local cancer center.  Mine will go in the basket for Dr. Gandhi’s office where I get my fabulous B-cell killer.  I promised.  risatabluechemocap.jpg

Big day.  Sore feet.

Peace.

3 Responses

  1. Neat looking hat! I haven’t done any chemo caps in a while – need to get back to that. As soon as I finish The Afghan – wedding present for our first grandkid to get married (24May). I’ll have it done by then, but I am having to push.

    I love your organizing and finding all the yummy stuff. But don’t get rid of all your paintings. You might have one of mine sometime. 8^)

  2. Addendum: I assume you know about The Yarn Harlot’s blog, but do you know about Panopticon? If not, you should. Here’s the link.

    http://the-panopticon.blogspot.com/

  3. Mother will tell you, if you’ll let me come clean up a shelf, it will be organized alphabetically when I leave. (That is what I get for offering to help, they tease me about actually organizing the spices.) Really, though, if I could come play in the organic cotton and other (laaaaaaaaaa) fibers, I’d be happy. Tell you what, as soon as I’m done organizing Mom, I’ll be over. I think that will be about 2012. (Very Big Grin)
    Love the chemo cap. Looks a bit like what some of the girls at my university wear, only more stylish. They like the stuff that looks like it was worn out 2 years ago.
    If I ever had all my hair fall out, it would be a help to at least have something cool to wear on my head. You’re a sweetie to do that for people you don’t even know.

Leave a Reply

