Squash and Sox (For Real!)

Well, People of the World, the fact is, I made a big decision for knitting over doctoring this evening.  I could have been at a dinner meeting and reunion of a medical society that I used to belong to, but I opted in favor of home cooking and working on the Berroco cardigan.  I was weighing the choices earlier this morning and realized that I would be having a reunion with folks who were gonna talk a lot about medicine and not at all about knitting, and who hadn’t been very close to me in the five years since I wandered (lurched?) into retirement. 

This afternoon I’ve been so excited about Important Impending Knitting Stuff that I knew my conversation would be focused on it, and how on earth would I carry on about the National Still-working Doctors Convention, the newest Killer-diller antibiotic, and the cost of ear swabs purchased by the gross.  I still have love for my former profession, but I’m just not there any more. 

So you probably are on the edge of your chair wondering about the Important Impending Knitting Stuff.  Today, in the advertising email of a knitting business, I read about the Think Outside the Sox competition.  You know I’ve entered competitions before, and even won one and became a finalist in another.  And you know I’ve had these ideas lately about socks and constructing them more simply.  And you know I’m just crazy enough to take any challenge if it’s presented to me with a skein of yarn.  So – BIG SURPRISE – I’m in.  Go there with me.  The website is http://ThinkOutsideTheSOX.com , and this is what I found there:

  • Deadline is January 1, 2009 – I oughta be able to knit some socks by then!
  • $20,000 in prize money is out there.
  • There are 26 categories that you can enter.
  • Yarns and categories are from a bunch of different co-sponsors, and they all have different goals, so you can pick you favorite or your forte.
  • You can knit or crochet your entries, or both!  (You know I crochet, too.)
  • The entry fee is only $10 (so you can get your socks back), and you can enter up to five times.
  • http://www.universalyarn.com/hotsox.php is the list of stores that are participating and have yarns for the contest. 
  • Winners are announced at Stitches West 2009-an opportunity for a California trip, y’all!

Now, don’t take my word for it.  Go to the website yourself and be sure you understand all the rules and restrictions.  This does make one complication for me.  Since I was going to work up the easy socks and put them on here, I’ve got to decide if the easy socks are competition-worthy.  I’ve lagged behind in finishing them because of more urgent projects, so they weren’t dashing to the front line as it was.  I’ll keep you posted. 

In other, non-sock, knitting, I’ve been getting palpitations looking at my cardigan.  I have both of the fronts finished, and I love how drapey and soft it is.  I know it’s going to lay on the body just right.  I’ve cast on the back with 159 stitches (roughly twice the width of one front, but still a number that’s a multiple of 4, minus 1 stitch).   It is going fast, and I’ll continue to concentrate on the sample piece and the cardigan in the next few days.

 This evening I looked up a squash casserole recipe and then mangled it badly to fit what I have in my pantry and refrigerator.  It is way better than I anticipated, maybe the best squash casserole I’ve ever made.  Just in case your pantry looks like mine, this is what I used: 

  • 1 large bag of frozen squash, already sliced
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten (by hand is ok)
  • 10 ounces of soy milk
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup of shredded cheese
  • two handfuls of organic tortilla chips with mixed whole grains and sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup of dehydrated red and green bell pepper, reconstituted in the milk
  • 1/2 cup of dehydrated mushrooms, crumbled and reconstituted in the milk
  • 2 tablespoons of Smart Balance spread

Bring the squash to a boil in a couple of inches of water, then turn down and simmer until just tender.  Drain and mush out the extra water, then add the Smart Balance.  Beat the egg and add to the milk, peppers and mushrooms.  Smoosh the chips.  I place them in a zip-type plastic bag and crush them with a glass.  Put the squash in a deep casserole dish.  Fold in the egg/milk mixture and the cheese.  Spread the tortilla chip crumbs over the top.  Cook at 350 degrees F until the casserole is beginning to bubble.  Eat.  Enjoy.  Be healthy.

Peace.

One Response

  1. Go Essie! Go Essie! Cant wait to see your new socks!!

Leave a Reply

