Finishing the Organic Cotton Baby Sweater

I did it, and it’s adorable, and I’m going to cry when someone buys it.  I absolutely love how this sweater turned out.  I’ll show it to you first, talk later.organiccottonbabysweater-frontcomplete.jpgTo knit the neckband and front bands, I used my circular needles to pick up and knit stitches from the right front bottom around the neck to the left front bottom, picking up all the garter bumps on the fronts, and then each stitch along the back of the neck.  I knit them LOOSELY for that pickup row, then followed that with a wrong side row consisting of (purl, purl, knit) all the way around.  The following row (right side) I did (knit, knit, purl) to continue that ribbing.  This was followed by one knit row, and at the end of that row we’re back at the right side bottom.  I wanted my button holes to be on the right placket, so on the following row I knit the whole row but evenly spaced four yarn-overs (each followed by knitting 2 together) on the placket.   On the return row I knitted every stitch and bound off all of the stitches on the left front and neckline.  When I reached a few stitches above the first yarnover I stopped binding off and knitted to the bottom of the placket.  I knitted one more row of placket, then turned and came down, binding off.  This gives a buttonhole side that protrudes and conveniently overlaps the other front.  You can see that in the large photo above. organiccottonbabysweater-backcomplete.jpg   Here is a shot of the back. 

Here’s a photo of the neckline, which is knitted loosely enough to not chafe the back of the baby’s neck.                               organiccottonbabysweater-neckcomplete.jpg

I seamed the sleeves, underarms and sides with the right sides together.  The last issue was choice of buttons.  I wanted something in a color that occurs in nature in conjunction with this nice brown, and a texture that was also natural-looking.  I almost settled on the seafoam buttons, but I found the small squares that seemed to be a perfect fit-more subtle coloring and a wood-like appearance. organiccottonbabysweater-buttonchoice.jpg

I’ve measured the chest size of the sweater and compared it to my handy chart and it is a size 18 months.  The only thing left is to list it in my Etsy store.  If you’d like to make the sweater yourself but want to make a different size, I will rework the pattern for you for a small fee.  If you are adventurous, you can do the resizing yourself by checking measurements against your gauge.  Infants and toddlers don’t have many curves so you can make proportional changes very confidently.

This has been a lovely weekend.  I’ve had a visit from my college girl, who needed to be home for an appointment tomorrow.  The friend who carted away my goods to sell at the religious convention came home with a small check and shared our dinner.  She’s a friendly, gregarious salesperson and I’ve no doubt that my business cards are all over the state now.  I’ve survived this few days of terribly painful feet without either of them falling off, and with hardly a thought of the axe treatment.  (My friend was right, it’s such a messy way of dealing with them!)  I have a plan for continuing with a little exercise.  I’ve started to amass pieces of paper to take to my tax people.  Only a few more days of cellulitis antibiotics, and I’m still seeing improvement.  Prednisone is finally down to 10 mg. per day.  Goodness, what more could a woman want?

Peace!

One Response

  1. This is an absolutely adorable sweater!

Leave a Reply

