Today I am Rambling…Be Forewarned

Poopies!  I woke this morning with a leg that looked just like yesterday’s leg:  just a little bit back from the border, the red spot in my cellulitis hadn’t budged.  The tenderness was the same.  And there was ominous swelling around my knee.  My heart sunk.  It sunk deep into my abdominal cavity, while I thought about cellulitis spreading upward into my knee joint and causing a septic joint, which is much more serious than cellulitis.  The knee was tender when I prodded it.  Double poopies!!  Big hypochondria attack coming!  Sepsis, coma, death. 

I got up and hobbled to the potty and then back to the side of the bed, where I did a thorough knee exam.  The swelling was in the soft tissue above my knee, probably an aggravation of the falling injury, just from my walking in the house, doing chores yesterday.  There was no extra fluid in the joint, and the knee wasn’t warm.  Range of motion didn’t hurt.  There was no redness or tenderness or streaking between the cellulitis and the knee.  Okay, hypochondria attack subsiding.  I still needed to treat the cellulitis more effectively if I wanted to get off leg elevation by Christmas.  I called in a prescription for the next line up of antibiotics. 

Today it is cold and rainy, one of those days that would feel dreary even if I was more mobile.  I ignored the knee and drove the whole mile and a half to the pharmacy drive-through and got my medicine ($118 was my co-pay, I’m sure there’s a miracle cure coming!), then treated myself to an Arby’s deli sandwich.  Back at home I tried putting Reddi-Whip on my black coffee.  It was yummy but I was still bored.  I knitted while I distracted myself with a funny movie, Guru

I just wandered into my kitchen to see what to do about dinner.  Know anyone who gets excited to find dried beans in the pantry?  Here I am.  I was raised on beans by a mom who cooked them the Southern way, with lots of fat meat.  For the uninitiated, that means lots of pork, usually the fatter the better, cuts like streak o’ lean, fatback, hamhocks…Basically it was a pot of nutritious fiber served with a heart attack.  I disliked beans until I could cook them my way.  In my pantry I found pintos, navy beans, and garbanzos.  I chose pintos, loaded a pound into my crock-pot, picked out the few little clumps of dirt, and added water, a tablespoon of *Pasolivo’s tangerine oil, and the juice left in a can of **Big Franks.  I sliced a fresh onion into the pot…no fresh garlic-a travesty in my kitchen!  The crock-pot is on high and I’ll have tender beans this evening. 

The other day I promised to show the organic, undyed cotton baby sweater as it progresses.  organiccottondemosweater1.jpgYou can see that I started it at the bottom right corner.  This is the back of the sweater.  I’ve knitted about 2/3 of the back, enough to be up to the sleeves.  The sleeves are now on the needles at the top of the piece, added on in subsequent rows.  Basically, the pattern so far is this: 

I’m using  Pakucho, which was reviewed in Knitters Review(http://www.knittersreview.com/article_yarn.asp?article=/review/product/050609_a.asp), and I selected my needles to give a gauge of about 4.5 stitches per inch.

Cast on 50 stitches (need a multiple of 4, plus 2). 

Row 1:  (K2, P2) and repeat to end of row.

Row 2:  Knit the knit stitches and purl the purls stitches to the end of the row.  (That amounts to (P2, K2) and repeat to end of row.

Row 3:  (P2, K2) and repeat to end of row. 

Row 4:  Purl the purls and knit the knits to the end of the row, or (K2, P2) to end of row.

Repeat rows 1-4 until you have finished 39 rows.

Row 40:  (K2, P2) repeat to end of row, then cast on 20 stitches by using the wrap cast-on ( http://knitting.about.com/od/castingon/ss/wrap_cast_on.htm).  Turn to work row 41.

Row 41:  You now have 70 stitches, still a multiple of 4 + 2, so you can continue by staying in your same pattern (a repeat of row 1).  At the end of the row, use wrap cast-on to add 20 more stitches. 

Row 42:  You now have 90 stitches, still a multiple of 4 + 2, and you continue by staying in your pattern stitch (repeat row 2). 

This is a closeup of the stitching:organiccottondemosweater2.jpgThis is what I meant when I noted that the organic cotton needed some stitch-work.  This makes a beautiful pattern, really giving life to this basic, rustic yarn. 

I’m on row 55 right now, still working the stitch pattern.  Next I’ll figure out how I want to put in the neck opening, so bear with me if you are nipping at my heels.  I’ll get it out in a day or two.   

Oh yeah, my little references:

*Pasolivo is the fabulous brand of olive oil that I order from the Willow Creek Olive Ranch in Paso Robles, California.  It is a family business that makes award-winning olive oils, well worth the shipping cost.  A tasty oil can completely refresh a dish and make the simplest ingredients (like my beans) heavenly.  (www.pasolivo.com)

**Every vegetarian is familiar with a dozen different frankfurter substitutes.  My favorites come in a can, and at  more than 3 ounces apiece, they are appropriately named Big Franks.  They are a Worthington product. 

Alright, it’s really time to go.  What do you want?  I’ve taught you medicine, cooking and knitting today.  Gimme a break!

Peace, people.

2 Responses

  1. Yeah!!! The knee is getting better! More power to the “Big Franks” a family favorite, we order by the cases! Have you fixed them this way…? A tip from my Mother-in-love(mother-in-law). In your skillet add your olive oil and slice one onion and one bell pepper, pour the juice from the “Big Franks” into your skillet and then top it with the “Big Franks” letting them simmer for about an hour…my-my-my!!!They are DELICIOUS that way and of course just eat them right out of the can or put into a bun and top with veggie chili and you have some more good eatin…I have to go…I want some myself!!! BYE-BYE Yall!

  2. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

