Breaking News

Okay, I’ve been trying to give you an idea of what it’s like to live with this particular chronic illness.  Yesterday I mentioned sometimes loving the lupus for the gift of wonderful occurrences on a background of bad stuff.  Well, here’s the opposite.  This morning I awoke feeling pretty much okay.  My leg hurt a little, but hey, something’s always hurting, so I wasn’t concerned.  My stomach was upset before lunch time, so lunch was crackers and a hot ginger drink.  I had a nap.  Not so bad, hunh?  Well, I’ve awakened from my nap and my right leg (the one that I fell on, the one with the pretty bruises) has a warm, red, 4 x 8 inch area over the shin.  We call that cellulitis – a skin infection that must be treated with antibiotics and watched carefully to make sure it isn’t spreading.  I’ve talked to my doc, and I’ll go to my drugstore drive-through and pick up my antibiotics.  The care of a cellulitis involves keeping the area elevated and taking the antibiotics, with some acetaminophen or naproxen for pain and fever. Depending on how the leg goes, my plans for the next few days may be off.  It’s a good thing I can knit.  Days like today, radical knitting is my only recourse. Peace.
3 Responses

  1. ((hugs))
    sending you prayers & hugs…..

  2. I am thinking of you and wising the nasty cellulitis to go away….

  3. You have an awesome spirit! Thank Heaven for your knitting!Sending up prayers for you!

Leave a Reply

