Exercise Leads to Mysteries

Yesterday I slowly climbed up to the second floor where my handed-down exercise bike resides.  I was grateful to see that it had a nice wide seat.  It’s been so long I had forgotten.  When I got settled on it I was able to pedal and do the push-pull handles very slowly for about 9 minutes.  I didn’t go fast enough to sweat, get tired, or become short-winded.  I thought that was adequate and slowed even further for a cool down period, then stopped.  I am delighted that I can tolerate a bit of exercise.  I’ve been severely limited by back problems (the lovely sacroiliitis) and it was not aggravated by the biking.  More to come! 

Cut to this morning.  I knew I didn’t feel good before my eyes were open.  My injured knee and elbow were stiff and a bit swollen, protesting that they had not healed enough to push the pedals yet.  The edema in my legs had increased, too, and getting out of bed was no fun.  My health inventory was not looking encouraging. 

I didn’t stop immediately to try and figure out everything that was wrong and why.  Experience has taught me to get my routine going as early as possible, so I got up, made a simple breakfast (oatmeal, toast, applesauce) and a cup of coffee, propped my feet up and ate slowly.  I made my favorite of all the coffee pods I have stocked right now:  Fratello’s Saigon Dark, and breathed in the full, smoky aroma while I savoured the flavor.  I love coffee and I’m one of the lucky people who doesn’t have ill effects from it.  I once belonged to a denomination that taught that caffeine was a gateway drug.  One day when I feel like being factual I will dispute that position here in bold print, but right now I want to convey to you that coffee was a delicious, warm comfort this morning.  I’m quite sure that it sped right to the bad knee and relaxed it. 

I like figuring out why stuff is happening.  When you have a disease like lupus it’s easy to blame everything on the disease.  My bad morning was not disease-related.  It was the falling down (slippery shoes with tread worn off) and the missing a pill (slippery mind?) that resulted in this day, and if I had run off and treated it with increased lupus medicine it wouldn’t have helped a bit.  This desire to know exactly why the body reacts the way it does is essential in medicine.  A monkey could treat people with knee jerk reactions and some of its patients would improve, but that would be horrible medicine.  I enjoy solving that mystery right down to the cellular level and then treating it very specifically. 

You can see my mystery-solving interest in some of my non-medical pursuits.  Yesterday I took out a 500-piece puzzle and started it.  I got so involved that I continued to work it even as I discovered that it was too large for the board on which I placed it.  Much of my television viewing is mysteries.  Someone said that any time you turned on your TV, an episode of Law and Order was playing on some channel.  That makes me exceedingly happy.  Dayna and I were accused of only watching Murder, She Wrote and Matlock all summer.  We did indeed know every time and channel where we could catch them, and sometimes they took up a good chunk of day.  Our bookshelves are filled with tons of books, many of them mysteries.  We both read Stephen White, Agatha Christie, Sue Grafton,  Martha Grimes…you see what I mean? 

Sometimes when I start knitting it’s just as much of a mystery.  This morning I was only thinking comfort, and as I came back from the kitchen I grabbed two balls of Karabella Soft Tweed from the shelf.  They are color #1460, a deep teal with flecks of white and black and brown, a pretty, not-too-rugged tweed.  I also picked up a set of 10.5 needles, chosen more for their light weight than their size.  And I started knitting.  I cast on 16 loose stitches and started a garter stitch and waited for it to tell me where it was going.  After an inch or two, it piped up and said “Toddler sweater”, so I kept going until I had a ribbed upper half, a simply shaped neckline, and then copied it for the other front and the back.  Right now the body is finished and I tucked in the ends and crocheted a single crochet border around the front and neckline.  I’m working on sleeves.  I wasn’t aiming for particular dimensions, obviously, but based on the chest circumference it turns out that this will be a lovely 24 months size.  Now that I know that, I will make my sleeves 8.5 inches long or a bit more.  Photo tomorrow.

Can you tell that I’ve had a perfectly good day?  This afternoon, after meds and a very slow wind-up, I had visits from two close friends, a phone call from another, a long IM session with my daughter, and lots of knitting.  I dispensed a little medical care from my home office (the couch).  I prepared a turkey breast that my friends brought (they made a limited grocery expedition for me, yippee!!), and now I’m doing something else that I quickly grew to love-sending out my “Hey there” to the people.

Peace.

2 Responses

  1. Hey! This makes for some interesting reading (even the political stuff about certain “right” Christians… hmmm)

    🙂 The Murder She Wrote caught my attention. I used to watch that show with my dad a LOT and it was one of my favorites. Something about that town, and everyone knowing each other. It was comfortable.

    Hope your doing okay heading into Sunday.

  2. Oops, that would be “You are” (Hate typos)

Leave a Reply

