Scientific Experiment, NOT

Mornin’!  This is how I am right now: 

 Knitting desire                    ************

Pain (doggone sacroiliac!)    *********

Appetite (yippee!)                ****

Stiffness                                 ******

Energy                                   ******

Sense of humor                    **********

Thought I would start off today with the post-breakfast inventory, then repeat it this afternoon.  This is my unscientific but pretty effective way of comparing pre- and post-medicine and pre- and post-movement condition.  

Someone once told me that if one bad thing happened in my day, I let it color the entire day and called the day “bad”.  He was right, and for the last decade I have been working on that.  Part of the task has been to not let my physical condition be the only feature by which my day is judged.   I’ve been successful at that to the point that I won’t even do an assessment without including other factors.  It is impossible to live well with a chronic illness if you are only concerned with your physical abilities.  You have to come to recognize your worth outside of what your body controls-your worth as a friend, as a thinking person, as someone with skills that can be used when you are not able to climb mountains and ford streams, but maybe just drive a few miles and sit in a chair.   

If you have been living a very physical life, perhaps you have to take inventory of the other things you can do or skills you’d like to develop, and then work on them.  Or maybe it requires adjusting your focus in the same area that you’ve pursued in the past.  For instance, if volunteering had you wielding a hammer on a home building site, consider whether the same organization could also use your accounting skills or your ability to recruit others. 

Another part of judging my day is remembering accurately  and then letting go.  I used to mentally escalate small events into epics, running over and over them in my mind.  Now I might give some unpleasant occurence one opportunity to be reviewed mentally, focusing on what I could have done better, and then I deliberately put it away.  If my mind tries to wander back to it, I pick up a task that requires some concentration and fill my brain with the new chore.  At the end of the day, that one difficult stretch hasn’t had the chance to override all the good that may have surrounded it. 

I recognize that I have some control over the events of my day, and I place good things in my day with regularity.  I plan breaks and phone calls and trips out of the house and other treats, rather than just hoping that something good will happen.  I know the things that please and sooth me, and I use them.  They aren’t all big-maybe I will read a chapter in a book I particularly enjoy or take an evening bubble bath.  Whatever I do, I’ve helped tilt the overall day towards the “good” side. 

Finally, I take time to appreciate all the good in my life.  I am blessed in so many ways, and I would be a total ingrate if I didn’t thank the ones responsible.  I say “thank you” a lot-to my children, my friends, my other family, and to God.  I try to note smaller things and say “thank you” for them-someone doesn’t have to donate a kidney to get your notice!  I acknowledge good jokes, phone calls, errands to the kitchen and back, chores performed well, chores just performed…you get the idea.  It’s all good.

In that vein, a “thank you” to you for reading my stuff.  That lifts my day, too!

Peace.

Leave a Reply

