Momentary panic, people.  I just called the office where I’m supposed to get my big treatment next Wednesday and the receptionist sounded so nonchalant and couldn’t pin down anything about what to expect, even whether I’d definitely get treated that day or just see the doc who’s in charge of the infusion center.  I’m just going to sit here and knit for a minute and regain my composure. 

Fat chance I sat and knitted!  I went straight to Medscape.com and read some more articles on the treatment, reinforcing my belief that I really need it.  Okay, calm again.  I’m on the right path, I have great trust in my docs and one dizzy receptionist isn’t going to ruin my day.  Wednesday I’m going to get out of bed, drink my coffee and go kick some B-cell butt!  Oh yeah, I’m gonna have breakfast too, because breakfast is The Most Important Meal of the Day and I never miss it.  These are some of the best things my mom did for me when I was a kid:

1.  Made me eat breakfast every day.

2.  Kept new coloring books and games hidden away for days when I was sick and had to stay home from school.

3.  Didn’t censor my reading.

4.  Believed me when I said it wasn’t my fault I got in trouble yelling during a break in the second grade.  And went to see the teacher to defend me!

5.  Taught me all the stuff about periods and body parts at an early age and in plain English, and made discussion of sex a normal and comfortable thing in the household.

6.  Taught me how to find a compliment for anyone, just to make that person feel better about themselves.

7.  Put my hair in pretty french braids and made up names for different hair-styles.

8.  Taught me etiquette.

9.  Made me aware of how I spoke and proper pronunciation.  (“May-on-naise” not “man-naise”.)

10. Taught me to clean house, saying “even if you can afford a maid you’ve got to be able to tell her what to do”. 

11. Bought me piles of underwear and made sure that I knew to wear clean, intact ones in case “they have to be cut off in the emergency room.”

Okidoke, just to show you I don’t have brain damage from lupus, I’m remembering that I promised an easy-peasy pattern for the cashmere.  Still working with the Karabella Supercashmere (ultrasoft and bulky, 13 stitches to 4 inches is their published gauge) I cast on 70 stitches loosely on size 6 bamboo (fairly blunt) needles.  Remember, if you are a tight knitter, go up a size.  I worked the following:

row 1:  (knit 2, purl 3) repeat to end of row

row 2: (knit 3, purl 2) repeat to end of row

Repeat rows 1 and 2 until band is as wide as you desire, about 20 rows or 4 inches.  You can make it wider if you have absolutely gigantohumongous ears.  Bind off loosely.  Sew the two ends together.  Voila!  You have just made a nice warm, soft, unisex ear warmer with a sophisticated looking rib stitch. 

If you are totally knitting impaired, cast on 65 stitches and knit every row until you have 4 inches.  A garter stitch ear warmer in a beautiful yarn is still a beautiful, cozy accessory.  I believe in using great yarns that speak for themselves, and not going crazy on the stitchwork.

cashmereearwarmer.jpg    Below you can see the details of the ribbing.  The ear warmer is knit from one side to the other (lots of stitches, not so many rows), and you can see the knit 3-purl 2 ribbing.  Ribbing tends to give a piece elasticity, a nice thing when you want a band to stay snugly on your head.        cashmereearwarmerb.jpg

This is how it looks on a human.  In some households, this pose would require first combing one’s hair.  With me, not so much:

cashmereearwarmerc.jpg

But hey, I am smiling!  Peace!

Leave a Reply

