Warning: Thought Production in Progress

I’ve just finished reading a memoir written by someone that I knew a long time ago.  While I was reading it I knew immediately that I would have to blog about it, and I figured I’d finish it and the next day it would be my topic.  I rather cleared the boards for it, even.  But now that the day is here, I’m still thinking about it.  I am not sure how I want to approach this, and I don’t want to misstep. 

First, I think it is important to recognize that someone you knew a long time ago is not the same person.  We all change (did I say Thank God?!).   I am not the child that was in that relationship, and if I knew this person today, I doubt that child would even rear her head. 

Second, I need to work out the emotions that came over me as I read the work.  Why were they there?  And will they unfairly colour my writing? 

Third, and maybe already resolved, is the question of why to write about it at all.  What does it matter that I read a book and I once knew the author and that the whole process affected me?  Um, hello, this blog, day after day, line by line, is all about what affects me.  It’s a conversation with you, and it is a conversation with myself. 

So I’ve posted the above warning:  Thought Production in Progress.  When I look back in history, I sometimes see thoughts, concepts, ideas that were articulated that took hold and changed people, or that thoroughly expressed a mood or posture of a particular era.  Maybe people should have had some warning about those thoughts.  Perhaps, God/ess, you should have incorporated some mechanism to warn our associates about impending important thoughts.  Maybe by writing them in the air and encasing them in a balloon?  (Don’t give me disdain, you used that handwriting on the wall thing.)  Or maybe you could have made someone’s forehead and scalp light up in a nice neon color to indicate the churning inside that cranium preceding an important thought.  Personally, I like heat generation, so that a person could touch your head and gauge the intensity of the processes inside.  I used to do that with Dayna.  She was such an insightful, aware child that I would touch her head and jump back, saying “Hot!  Hot!”  and she would laugh with delight.

These are some of the thoughts that I would have warned the world about.  I would have run through the streets yelling “Pay attention!  Important thought coming.”  Or at least included it in my blog.  I just absolutely must refuse to credit these thoughts.  We should all know where they came from.  The order is random:

  • We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal…
  • I have a dream…
  • …ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country…
  • Suffrage is the pivotal right.
  • In the beginning, God…
  • What is it to serve God and to do His will? Nothing else than to show mercy to our neighbor. For it is our neighbor who needs our service; God in heaven needs it not.
  • All we are saying is give peace a chance.
  • There can be no keener revelation of a society’s soul than the way in which it treats its children.
  • Traditional people of Indian nations have interpreted the two roads that face the light-skinned race as the road to technology and the road to spirituality. We feel that the road to technology…. has led modern society to a damaged and seared earth. Could it be that the road to technology represents a rush to destruction, and that the road to spirituality represents the slower path that the traditional native people have traveled and are now seeking again? The earth is not scorched on this trail. The grass is still growing there.
  • Snap out of it!

Add your own intentions.  Admittedly, Cher’s words to Nicholas Cage in Moonstruck may not be a traditional expression of the female-male dilemma, but it says everything to me. 

William Commanda’s words may not be familiar either, but my Native American brother (I’m part Native American) expresses so much about our current society and our quest for more, and he said that in 1991, long before global warming was a national issue.  The ferocity of this quest has damaged our home.  This has a direct relationship to my choice to knit.  It seems painfully evident that we need more quiet activities, more time to reflect, more production with our hands, better preservation of the skills and cleverness of our ancestors.  We need to promote activities that let us walk lightly on this earth, taking it one stitch at a time.

That’s all I’ve got, folks.  Give peace a chance.

2 Responses

  1. More time to sing!

    The following, sung to ‘Jerusalem’ in our hymnal, that tune in “Chariots of Fire”
    sang it lustily Sunday, my church husband and I.

    Hymn 597 Words by: Carl P. Daw, Jr.

    O day of peace that dimly shines
    Through all our hopes and prayers and dreams,
    Guide us to justice, truth, and love,
    Delivered from our selfish schemes.

    May swords of hate fall from our hands,
    Our hearts from envy find release,
    Till by God’s grace our warring world
    Shall see Christ’s promised reign of peace.

    Then shall the wolf dwell with the lamb,
    nor shall the fierce devour the small;
    as beasts and cattle calmly graze,
    a little child shall lead them all.

    Then enemies shall learn to love,
    All creatures find their true accord;
    The hope of peace shall be fulfilled,
    For all the earth shall know the Lord.

  2. very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

Leave a Reply

