I’m Going to Camp Stitches!!!!

So could you tell that I was just dying to spill the beans this morning?  I wrote my post with my mind totally on getting to Camp Stitches.  Registration opened this morning at 10 a.m. EST and I wanted to be first in line and I was a bad, bad girl because I did not trust anyone with this news except Dayna, who is always my partner in crime.  Camp Stitches is a fabulous knitting conference with world-class teachers and next May it will be in Santa Fe, New Mexico, where I’ve never been and am so excited to visit.  The reason I was so hyped about this particular conference is that Debbie New is teaching.  And I’m registered in her class!  She is the author of Unexpected Knitting, a book that features her freeform knitting techniques.  Like every other skill, knitting is informed by your previous training and background as well as by any intuitive ability you might have in that area.  I come to knitting from a B.S. in biomedical engineering and many years of problem solving, and I can see the effect that has on my approach to knitting.  According to her bio in Unexpected Knitting, Debbie New “is a graduate in various fields of universities in Melbourne, Aus., London, Can., and Cambridge, U.K., and has enjoyed a number of interrupted careers:  microbiologist, teacher, symphony violinist, potter and an inventor in biomedical engineering…” who has turned her life to “knitting adventurously.”  I am completely in awe of her. This is not just something to anticipate, but an event for which to prepare.  I’m going to take out Unexpected Knitting and go through it again, this time working on more of the projects and studying more thoroughly. One source for the book is: http://www.amazon.com/review/product/0942018222/ref=cm_cr_pr_redirect Even if you don’t want to knit a single item, the concepts in this book and the beauty of her creations are going to draw you in.   You can see a slide show of her creations here:  http://www.lacismuseum.org/exhibit/debbie_new/  .Wow.      

4 Responses

  1. Hi Essie,

    I don’t normally read blogs. Jamie sent me your link. I love it! Keep it going. I hope to never be in your state of health, but I am no longer afraid of it. I can look at your words and remember I control my attitude!

    Much love, Margaret

  2. WOW I checked out Debbie New’s exhibit and they are fabulous, exquisite. My favorite for designing my surroundings were the cups, Madonna & child …oh I loved the ones to wear too! What a wonderful trip for you to look forward to and learn more, yes, more. This is freedom to me your blogs. It lets me outside of my space here at home and work. I’m confined here so much of the time. I get to travel with you, no, not living your life just watching it and enjoying it. More….
    Toodle-loo Bye-Bye

  3. Sound like that you will have a great and wonderful time. It will be an experience you will never forget. I will look forward to hearing about it all.
    Debbie

  4. Whoo-Hoo…you will love Santa Fe!!!! It is really cool and so different from any place around here…congrats! And I am so happy you are feeling good today…

Leave a Reply

