The Christmas List – NOT

Mornin’!  I’ve pushed my photographing and posting of products back for days, and I’ve gotta do it this morning.  (Self-imposed deadline, no storm troopers at the door.)  So I decided to blog an important list this morning – the things I do not want for Christmas.

  • Fruitcake.  Am I really agonising over whether that is one word or two?  The only good fruitcake I ever had was made by a Georgia woman who seemed to leave out all the gummy red and green stuff and concentrate on raisins.  Our daughters aren’t friends any more so fat chance I’m getting some of that.
  • Pens that are not Pilot G-2.  I love office and school supplies and a visit to a place that sells them is pure heaven.  You can get all kinds of cheap thrills with pens, recycled tablets of paper, sticky notes, the right portable file…but I am particular about my writing instruments.  They’re not expensive, those G-2s, but they write an expensive-looking, smooooooth line, and they feel good in my hand.
  • Colognes and perfumes.  I’m perfectly happy to smell like my extra-heavy duty moisturizing lotion for alligators and Dove deodorant. 
  • Books that you feel I must read immediately.  I love books and I read constantly, but if you think you’re going to feel pressured to force me to read your book, just hold onto it and tell me how much you loved it.  Reading is a sacred experience.  Only you can pick the right book for you to be reading this moment. 
  • Sick people accessories.  Got plenty of thermometers, pill boxes, and natural remedies advisories.  Don’t need bed jackets, a doughnut cushion, or any of your deceased aunts old supplies.  I could use exercise equipment, however, as my treadmill just died.
  • Makeup accessories.  I don’t buff, highlight or glitterize. 
  • Tapes of your pastor’s sermons.  ‘Nuff said.
  • Proselytizing pamphlets.  You have no idea what I went through to get the correct spelling of that.  But my idea of fun is not unwrapping a stack of free pamphlets with drawings of burning humans being laughed at by the devil.
  • Acrylic yarn.  That’s a whole ‘nother 45 posts.
  • Paper that’s not recycled.  46 more posts necessary.
  • Lima beans.  Just in case.
  • Tickets to your church revival.  Hmmm, I see a theme developing here.
  • Coffee substitutes.  I’m not quitting and that’s my final answer.
  • Um….

I left one open for stuff I might have forgotten.  I’m not a gift snob.  I love an imaginative gift, one that is picked with me in mind (novel idea!), and that doesn’t mean expensive.  One of my great friends here always comes up with something I can use and would never have thought of or purchased myself.  One year it was a kit of stuff for my car, including the stuff that keeps your windshield from fogging–how cool was that?!  Another year, knowing how frequently I boil huge pots of water to indulge my love for pasta, she purchased a set of those canisters they advertise on TV that you just put the pasta in and fill with boiling water from your electric kettle and wait…and surprise, perfectly cooked pasta.  Lately, she’s been showing up at my house with couscous, a passion we share.  She should be a gift consultant!  The best thing is, she shows up for Christmas with her daughter and brother in tow and we get to spend time together!

Okay, it’s 8:13 a.m. and I’m going to go work for the store!  Peace everyone. 

2 Responses

  1. OKay, I’m de-lurking behind, appreciate the mention, will catch up (later) (when is that) might have to start own blog. Cept I don’t do anything worth showing pictures of. Have a huge discovery motion for a court case to process by last week.
    Just got elected Junior Warden at the church yesterday, immediately found a leak in the ‘new’ roof. Met interesting roofer at the church at 8 am today, he has a barbell piercing at the bridge of his nose. Helps keep eye contact, I guess. He let me climb up two stories on his ladder – o.m.g.
    Xmas Day must allow time to be at the airport/shuttle to pick up the baby who’s going to Houston the week before.
    Ha. Prednisone. Last dose due in 15 hours (I got half a day off schedule, imagine)
    I just bought lima beans. Love’em!
    GO MOCS!

  2. Good morning … My name is Wick Davis and I’m with the Lupus Foundation of America. I came across your blog and wanted to reach out to you. I’m currently trying to find all the bloggers out there who have lupus. I am hoping that we might be able to assist one another. I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to contact me at davis@lupus.org.

    I hope to hear from you. Wick

Leave a Reply

