Okay, Maybe a Little Fluff

I just talked to my doctor’s office.  I’m scheduled for my first new treatment the day after Christmas.  Ooooh, ooooh, ooooh.  Those are for the anticipation, the trepidation, the unknown…I know it is less than three weeks away and I am impatient. 

Meanwhile, my current flare of lupus symptoms seems to be waning.  Even better, my prednisone dose has been decreased and I know from experience that some of the side effects (swelling, insomnia) will decrease very soon and some will take up to six weeks to go away (the round “moon” face, increased appetite, increased infections).  Just riding that ole lupus rollercoaster!

Yesterday one of my nieces turned 18.  She is a fabulous girl, smart and athletic, a freshman at Cornell, and I’m glad that she and I have forged a bond and stay in communication.  She’s one of my frequent IM partners.  Anyway, I have to say “Happy Birthday, Girl!!!!!” and remind her that I love her dearly. 

I can’t mention that this lupus flare is better without thanking my daughter one more time.  She has been incredible this fall, organizing the household, driving me around, accompanying me to the Chattanooga Market (http://chattanoogamarket.com/) where we sold stuff, making gorgeous handdrawn tags for my products, running errands when my legs don’t want to walk, and just being the wise, funny, quirky presence that she always has been.  I was diagnosed with lupus when she was 4.  She grew up with my uncertain health, learning that every so-called appointment was a “maybe”, leaning on our extended friend-family to fill in when her mom couldn’t, and finding entertainment and fulfillment in things that didn’t rely on physical prowess.  Love you, girl!

The blanket for my girl is coming along beautifully.  These are very soothing colours to knit, and I’m making very simple patterns. Dayna's blanket first viewDayna’s blanket first viewI threw it down on the deck and snapped a few photos to show you.  I’m making each block from a skein of the Cozy Cotton.  Above is the first two completed blocks and part of the third. Dayna’s blanket first view, closerIn this photo I’ve focused on the seam between the first two blocks.  When my yarn from the first skein was close to running out, I just switched yarns and started the second block.  Against popular teaching, I made the switch on the wrong side of the fabric so that the stitched edge would show up on the right side.  Sometimes I like the look of that contrasting stitching.  You can see the partial rib alternative pattern that I showed you 12/04 in the deep persimmon block, and the block pattern (8 stitches x 10 rows) on the light rose quartz block.  The third block, which is oatmeal coloured, alternates between several rows of seed stitch and several rows of 2×2 block.  It is gorgeous, but my photo didn’t have enough detail tocapture it.  I’ll show it next time.

Today’s goals are to finish the oatmeal block and add a fourth block to this strip of the blanket, post a few more completed scarves to my store (http://www.essiewb.etsy.com/), and run a few errands.  Oh yeah, and pay some bills. 

Peace!

4 Responses

  1. This isn’t Essie writing this comment. It is Dayna. I stole my mom’s computer for a minute! Hahaha! I have the most amazing, wonderful mother. She is simply spectacular, and I don’t think she even realizes it. I am just too, too lucky!
    And as for our “creavtive friend on the mountain” aka my 2nd mommy and her family: they are wonderful too! About her kids… Well the 7 year old is so smart and interesting! What a kid! Plus, he used to be the cutest baby!!! Hehe! And the 15 year old is smart and creative and so cute and gorgeous!
    I am so lucky to have this unique, special family.
    Dayna

  2. I only just met your mom Dayna and I see what you mean.

  3. I am so excited to have Essie as my younger sister. I have learned so many knitting techniques from her. I wish I lived near so that I could just sit and knit with her everyday. That is what we do when I visit in Chattanooga. I live in Texas.

    I am so excited about her website and these blogs she is writing. Finding out a whole lot of stuff including the clear Converse Tennis Shoes with her knitted sock foot in the Tennis Shoe. I just had to order me a pair.

    Let us keep her in our prayers as she approaches the new technique for her Lupus to go away to remission.

    Second to the oldest sister, Myra

  4. Those clear shoes are so clever! I am glad the visit is going so well, and the blanket will be wonderful…Pink is so Pretty!!!! You guys have fun…and I love love love your writing..funny and very informative!

Leave a Reply

